IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules Forum Rules
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How do I use Kegety's Launcher, Through Steam
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 00:27
Post #1


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



i would like to mod Arma 1 but i don`t understand how to use the kegetys luancher.it say i need to set up the excutable or something can someone plzz tell me how to set it up and put mods on it.or it there are any easyer luanchers to use, i would like to try them out. helpsos.gif
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 02:07
Post #2


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Please don't use full caps again. Ever. This is your only warning.

I don't know if Kegety's launcher is compatible with the Steam version of ArmA. You may need to use a different launcher. Alternatively, you can launch mod folders by shortcut or the command line.

EMSI's launcher might work with Steam, though I haven't tried it:
http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?gam...ities&id=44

Or you can try the DOW launcher, which should be compatable with the steam version:
http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?gam...ities&id=61


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 03:31
Post #3


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



thanks, the DOW launcher is way better then last one. sry bout caps wont happen again

i am trying to mod Arma 1 using the dogs of war mod launcher ,but it is not working .does this launcher work with steam Arma 1
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 15:16
Post #4


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Can you not create a new thread for every problem you come across? I've merged your existing threads.

What exactly isn't working?


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 17:11
Post #5


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



QUOTE(D@V£ @ Jan 23 2010, 09:16) *
Can you not create a new thread for every problem you come across? I've merged your existing threads.

What exactly isn't working?

i put the mod on the launcher but something must be set up wrong ,i think it might be becuase it is not compadable with the steam version of arma 1 but i realy dont know
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 19:05
Post #6


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



As far as I know, other than the install location, there's no real difference between the steam version of ArmA and the disk versions. Definitely nothing that'd effect the launcher anyway. Have you checked you've set up the modfolders correctly?


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 19:47
Post #7


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



one part of the instructions that i skipped was running it on the commandline .i figured i did`t need to do that, you think that might be the problem.


these are the insturctions i used
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 20:03
Post #8


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



You don't need to worry about the command line if you're using a launcher, you might want to try testing it with the command line to make sure you've got your mod folder set up correctly though.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 20:34
Post #9


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



i tested my commandline threw the launcher is said it was

C;\Program files\Steam\steamapps\common\arma armed assault\arma .exe -nonslpash -word=empt
i know up to arma .exe is good.not sure about the last part
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 21:21
Post #10


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Try:
CODE
C:\Program files\steam\steamapps\common\ArmA Armed Assault\ArmA.exe -nosplash -mod=xxx


Obviously, replace xxx with the name of your modfolder.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 21:41
Post #11


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



now it says my commandline is
C;\Program files\Steam\steamapps\common\arma armed assault\arma .exe -nonslpash -world=empt- -mod=XTmod

for some reasion i cant run armed asault therw the mod luancher i have to click the desktop icon to get it going is this a problem


This post has been edited by element2586: Jan 23 2010, 21:54
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 23 2010, 23:05
Post #12


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Hmm... is steam running when you're trying this? If not, try signing into steam first.




Also, I'm not sure if these are just typos, but if they aren't...
CODE
C;\


Should be:

CODE
C:\


CODE
-nonslpash

Should be:
CODE
-nosplash


CODE
-world=empt

Doesn't need to be there.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 23 2010, 23:09
Post #13


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



ok i got the mods working thank your for a of your patience with me
 
Quote Post
element2586
post Jan 25 2010, 12:59
Post #14


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 10
Member No.: 7,115



hay im trying to install mods on my brothers computer .but for some resion when i go to click on the DOW launcher an error message comes up saying

acces to path C:\program files (x86)\blakord\dogs of war launcher\profiles` is denied

he is running it on 64 bit vista apparently that is why it is program files(x86) not sure if that matters again

This post has been edited by element2586: Jan 25 2010, 13:22
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Jan 25 2010, 16:54
Post #15


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Sounds like permission troubles, make sure the program is being run as an administrator. Alternatively try installing it to a different directory.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I donít understand it, Iím afraid of it, and one day Iíll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2018 - 06:30