IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules ArmedAssault.info Forum Rules
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> how do you get trains and train tracks, how to get trains and train tracks
corby1909
post Aug 7 2010, 06:12
Post #1


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 7,508



iv got 2 questions 1# im having trouble working out how to get trains and train tracks but i also dont now if you can get them so can you please help me with this

2# how do you make underground labortories and like hidout place for your mean like a top secret base underground but you can also put car into a sertion plce so their camoflouged in your hideaway base



thanz corby1909

This post has been edited by corby1909: Aug 7 2010, 06:15


--------------------
**There are three sides to any argument: your side, my side and the right side**
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**It will be a great day when our schools have all the money they need, and our
air force has to have a bake-sale to buy a bomber**
--------------------------------------------------------------------
MISSION: Black Hawk Down.
COMPLETE TIME: within 2 months.
GAME: ArmA.
ADDONS: ACE v1.09, Sakakah v.1.0, ArmA v1.18,
adukes helo pack, editor upgrade and others.
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Aug 7 2010, 12:53
Post #2


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



For #1, Train objects are designed so they fit onto track objects. You can use this command:
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos Track); TrainObj setdir (getdir Track)

To get a train to snap onto a piece of track, facing in the same direction as the piece of track, or:
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos Track); TrainObj setdir (getdir Track)+180

To get a train to snap onto a piece of track, facing in the opposite direction.

Of course, finding out the ingame name of a piece of track is an art in itself... you can use "show ID" to find the ID of a piece of track, then use
CODE
(getPos TrainObj) nearestObject TrackObjID

As a reference to the track. Where TrackobjID is the ID of the track object!
Or just plain use nearest Object, though that tends to act a bit funny it there's other stuff nearby: (should be fine in 99% of cases though, only if there's something on the track, or your train isn't positioned close enough to the track ingame)
CODE
nearestobject (getpos Train)


So, bringing it all together!
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos nearestobject (getpos Train)); TrainObj setdir (getdir nearestobject (getpos Train))

My computer's being a c*nt right now, so I can't test this ingame, but I think it'll work. You might need to adjust the height of the train afterwards though, I can't remeber...

As for #2, you'd need a special addon that hasn't been made to do that. My advice would be to think of another way to work the idea of a secret base into your mission.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don’t understand it, I’m afraid of it, and one day I’ll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
corby1909
post Aug 8 2010, 04:40
Post #3


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 7,508



QUOTE(D@V£ @ Aug 7 2010, 12:53) *
For #1, Train objects are designed so they fit onto track objects. You can use this command:
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos Track); TrainObj setdir (getdir Track)

To get a train to snap onto a piece of track, facing in the same direction as the piece of track, or:
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos Track); TrainObj setdir (getdir Track)+180

To get a train to snap onto a piece of track, facing in the opposite direction.

Of course, finding out the ingame name of a piece of track is an art in itself... you can use "show ID" to find the ID of a piece of track, then use
CODE
(getPos TrainObj) nearestObject TrackObjID

As a reference to the track. Where TrackobjID is the ID of the track object!
Or just plain use nearest Object, though that tends to act a bit funny it there's other stuff nearby: (should be fine in 99% of cases though, only if there's something on the track, or your train isn't positioned close enough to the track ingame)
CODE
nearestobject (getpos Train)


So, bringing it all together!
CODE
TrainObj setpos (getpos nearestobject (getpos Train)); TrainObj setdir (getdir nearestobject (getpos Train))

My computer's being a c*nt right now, so I can't test this in game, but I think it'll work. You might need to adjust the height of the train afterwards though, I can't remeber...

As for #2, you'd need a special add-on that hasn't been made to do that. My advice would be to think of another way to work the idea of a secret base into your mission.



thank you so much for Ur help but how do i actually get a train otherwise thankyou for you help big help
how do i get a train track?

thanks corby1909

This post has been edited by corby1909: Aug 8 2010, 04:41


--------------------
**There are three sides to any argument: your side, my side and the right side**
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**It will be a great day when our schools have all the money they need, and our
air force has to have a bake-sale to buy a bomber**
--------------------------------------------------------------------
MISSION: Black Hawk Down.
COMPLETE TIME: within 2 months.
GAME: ArmA.
ADDONS: ACE v1.09, Sakakah v.1.0, ArmA v1.18,
adukes helo pack, editor upgrade and others.
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Aug 8 2010, 13:18
Post #4


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



I don't entirely follow what you're asking...?

The train objects should be found under empty->Objects, and the track is already in place on Chernarus, look for the red lines on the map.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don’t understand it, I’m afraid of it, and one day I’ll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
corby1909
post Aug 9 2010, 07:56
Post #5


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 7,508



QUOTE(D@V£ @ Aug 8 2010, 13:18) *
I don't entirely follow what you're asking...?

The train objects should be found under empty->Objects, and the track is already in place on Chernarus, look for the red lines on the map.



so im looking for trains and train carrage like thing but can u actually drive them as well or can u just place them onto a track form empty-objects now im not at home atm so i cant try and place a train but when i get home in like an half an hour il go back on and tell you if this has answered my question and other thing how do you add friends to armed assault.info coz iv got a friend who want to add me but we dont know how.

thanz corby1909


--------------------
**There are three sides to any argument: your side, my side and the right side**
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**It will be a great day when our schools have all the money they need, and our
air force has to have a bake-sale to buy a bomber**
--------------------------------------------------------------------
MISSION: Black Hawk Down.
COMPLETE TIME: within 2 months.
GAME: ArmA.
ADDONS: ACE v1.09, Sakakah v.1.0, ArmA v1.18,
adukes helo pack, editor upgrade and others.
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Aug 9 2010, 13:07
Post #6


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Cleared your doublepost.

You'll need an addon for that. The trains in vanilla ArmA2 are just static objects unfortunately.

IIRC someone made a train addon a while back, though I can't remeber if it's still online, there might have been some legal issues with it...


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don’t understand it, I’m afraid of it, and one day I’ll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
corby1909
post Aug 11 2010, 12:15
Post #7


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 24-April 10
Member No.: 7,508



QUOTE(D@V£ @ Aug 9 2010, 13:07) *
Cleared your doublepost.

You'll need an addon for that. The trains in vanilla ArmA2 are just static objects unfortunately.

IIRC someone made a train addon a while back, though I can't remeber if it's still online, there might have been some legal issues with it...



so sorry about my double post that was by accidant ok if do found the train addon could you please tell me or if someone reads this and you have one can you post a message saying you have posted it and i would g o find it and download.

thanz corby1909


--------------------
**There are three sides to any argument: your side, my side and the right side**
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**It will be a great day when our schools have all the money they need, and our
air force has to have a bake-sale to buy a bomber**
--------------------------------------------------------------------
MISSION: Black Hawk Down.
COMPLETE TIME: within 2 months.
GAME: ArmA.
ADDONS: ACE v1.09, Sakakah v.1.0, ArmA v1.18,
adukes helo pack, editor upgrade and others.
 
Quote Post
D@V£
post Aug 11 2010, 15:30
Post #8


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Cleaned up triplepost! ohnoo.gif

Could be your browser doing something funny, or your mouse acting up, though the software should prevent that...


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don’t understand it, I’m afraid of it, and one day I’ll accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
6 User(s) are reading this topic (6 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 15:54