IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules ArmedAssault.info Forum Rules
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> The "Questions for people with ArmA2" thread
D@V」
post May 31 2009, 14:35
Post #1


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Evenin'.

Starting a thread for people who want to ask questions for people who have ArmA2. I know some people here have, so I'll start tongue.gif
Please remeber to use spoiler tags: Soylent Green is People, when posting information about the campaign.

How are the factions set up in the editor? Is it the classic East/West/Resistance/Civilian, or do we have 6 distinct factions? If the latter, is there a way to set up alliances without using the setfriend command?


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
AndreAce
post May 31 2009, 15:00
Post #2


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 19-July 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 3,676



QUOTE(D@V」 @ May 31 2009, 15:35) *
How are the factions set up in the editor? Is it the classic East/West/Resistance/Civilian, or do we have 6 distinct factions? If the latter, is there a way to set up alliances without using the setfriend command?


Hi,it is the classic setup as known from ArmA1 (and OFP).I guess there are different ways for tweaking alliances but I have to dig and find...
In general you can set up alliances in editor by editing Resistance/Guerilla is friendly to...East / West.

For just one group b.e. east soldiers have deserted and should attack other east soldiers and/or support west or guerillas you have to set a leader for those soldiers from west BUT with presence of 0% - then you have an east group with properties like a west group and they will attack all enemies of the west.


--------------------
 
Quote Post
D@V」
post May 31 2009, 16:39
Post #3


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



I see...

Who's on what side then? tongue.gif


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
OPFRACK
post May 31 2009, 17:02
Post #4


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 2-December 06
Member No.: 359



QUOTE(D@V」 @ May 31 2009, 17:39) *
I see...

Who's on what side then? tongue.gif

USMC and CDF are on BLUFOR, Russia and the Red Star Movement are OPFOR and the NAPA and Civilians are alone.

This post has been edited by OPFRACK: May 31 2009, 17:02
 
Quote Post
D@V」
post May 31 2009, 22:48
Post #5


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Shame... I was hoping to have some 5 way Warfare sad.gif


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Benoist
post May 31 2009, 23:22
Post #6


ArmA.info Sarcasm Society's Mr. Argentina 2012
Group Icon

Group: Newshound
Posts: 498
Joined: 20-October 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1,502



Still I remember a Editor screen where it said:

SIDE:
FACTION:
UNIT:
Etc.

Is like that?

EDIT:
Look at this video an tell me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tFOWKvjWH0
There is FLIR?
How is the UAV thing?
You can load bikes in a LAV?

The thing I don't like about the light system is that it shines what shound't shine, look at the helipad from where the V-22 takes off...

This post has been edited by Benoist: May 31 2009, 23:35
 
Quote Post
pMASTER
post Jun 1 2009, 00:49
Post #7


Gentleman Usher of the Coffee Stain
Group Icon

Group: Site Team
Posts: 677
Joined: 5-November 06
From: C18.3#C77.2#G63.1
Member No.: 19



If heard of two people now whose ArmA2 crashes right to the desktop every once in a while. Can anybody confirm such an essential problem?


--------------------
Google Google and Google will google Google!



R.I.P. Jacky *1996-2014
 
Quote Post
AndreAce
post Jun 1 2009, 00:58
Post #8


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 19-July 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 3,676



@CTD:
After installing the beta patch on the German Arma2 version I started creating a singleplayer mission and after the 4th preview when I wanted to verify if everything will work as intended I decided to spectate the action from the view of a female civilian and as I got close to a Russian unit I had a CTD... weirdsmiley.gif

While playing some of the singleplayer missions that came with the game,everything was fine.

This post has been edited by AndreAce: Jun 1 2009, 00:59


--------------------
 
Quote Post
Rellikki
post Jun 2 2009, 11:37
Post #9



Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,148
Joined: 4-November 06
Member No.: 13



- I heard in one ArmA II video where CDF soldiers were speaking some foreign language and it didn't quite sound like English or German. Sounded slavic to me. My question is, which language exactly Chernarussians speak? In the chats it's named [Chernarussian], but that doesn't tell much because the country is fictional.
- How are bullet dispersions in ArmA II? In OFP and ArmA I you'd always hit exactly where you aim, even with an inaccurate AK-47.
- Are one-shot rocket launchers really one-shot?
- How do the shotguns perfom? In OFP they were technically just machineguns which would fire long bursts...
 
Quote Post
D@V」
post Jun 2 2009, 14:21
Post #10


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



What are the UAVs like? How easy are they to get working?


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
DaRat
post Jun 2 2009, 15:21
Post #11


~Established April, 2004~
*****

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 800
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Sussex, England
Member No.: 34



QUOTE
- I heard in one ArmA II video where CDF soldiers were speaking some foreign language and it didn't quite sound like English or German. Sounded slavic to me. My question is, which language exactly Chernarussians speak? In the chats it's named [Chernarussian], but that doesn't tell much because the country is fictional.
- How are bullet dispersions in ArmA II? In OFP and ArmA I you'd always hit exactly where you aim, even with an inaccurate AK-47.
- Are one-shot rocket launchers really one-shot?
- How do the shotguns perfom? In OFP they were technically just machineguns which would fire long bursts...

- Czech I think
- Less accurate than before, but still too accurate to be realistic
- M136 is still reloadable
- Shotguns are single shots, like rifles, unfortunately..

QUOTE
There is FLIR?
How is the UAV thing?
You can load bikes in a LAV?

- Yes
- UAV is pretty cool, you can control it from a station in the campaign and tell it where to orbit while viewing the camera and placing markers by pressing a button which then appear on the map.
- Yep, bikes can be loaded on top of the LAV (It's in a mission, not sure how it works outside of it)

Hasn't CTD's once for me yet, and I can play it on High - Very High with my system:

E6700 Dual core 2.66 Ghz
8800GTX
2GB RAM
XP

QUOTE
Still I remember a Editor screen where it said:

SIDE:
FACTION:
UNIT:
Etc.

Is like that?

Yeah, you choose the Side - Blufor, Opfor, Independant, Animals, Empty
then the Faction, so if you chose Blufor you would get the option of CDF or USMC, or Opfor you would get Russia or NAPA
 
Quote Post
Alphanumeric
post Jun 2 2009, 19:38
Post #12


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 9-April 09
Member No.: 5,509



For everyone who's played it what bout the "Shaky Cam" effect you get while running. Does this give anyone else a headache? I just finished watching a preview video and every time the person would make his soldier run the shaky cam effect just gave me a horrible migraine.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? And can it be dialed down in the settings? I'm not going to buy a game that practically induces a seizure when you play it. thumbsdownsmileyanim.gif

This post has been edited by Alphanumeric: Jun 2 2009, 19:39
 
Quote Post
fowtwofive
post Jun 3 2009, 17:43
Post #13


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-June 09
Member No.: 5,854



Hi, I have a Quick Question.. How is the RCO/Acog scope in-game?

Just curious cuz i haven't seen any video's or pic's of it being attached to m4/m16.

THX
 
Quote Post
Rellikki
post Jun 3 2009, 18:17
Post #14



Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,148
Joined: 4-November 06
Member No.: 13



Some more questions that came into my mind:
- How is the vehicle steering in ArmA II? In ArmA it would automatically try to center the screen when you steer, unlike in OFP, which was really really annoyning.
- Do static weaponry still have any recoil?
- How will enemy AI behave when you run very close up to them? There probably isn't any hand-to-hand combat abilities (I'd also like a confirmation on that), but will they at least try to shoot you? In OFP and ArmA they'd run away like chickens or act very stupid - you could even run circles around them and they'd be too slow to aim and kill you...
 
Quote Post
AndreAce
post Jun 5 2009, 17:28
Post #15


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 19-July 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 3,676



QUOTE(Rellikki @ Jun 3 2009, 19:17) *
- How is the vehicle steering in ArmA II?
- Do static weaponry still have any recoil?
- How will enemy AI behave when you run very close up to them? There probably isn't any hand-to-hand combat abilities (I'd also like a confirmation on that), but will they at least try to shoot you?


-The steering is kind of odd depending on the vehicle velocity,for me it is very hard to drive through the streets in a town without killing innocent bystanders or hitting a wall...at faster speed it seems to react better.And yes - it tries to autocenter - but not all the time.Feels like there is a delay.
Tracked and wheeled vehicles have the same steering behaviour.

-The howitzer has a recoil.All vehicles with big guns (except the machine guns, grenade launchers&mortar (which is useless currently)) have a recoil.

-The AI behaves often different at the same situation, depending on their skills & position (up/down).It will be possible to get killed of a short distance.AI does what AI does boppin2.gif


--------------------
 
Quote Post
D@V」
post Jun 5 2009, 18:24
Post #16


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



How well does the attachto command work with object geometry? Are collisions between the objects ignored?


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Rellikki
post Jun 5 2009, 19:16
Post #17



Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,148
Joined: 4-November 06
Member No.: 13



Thanks Andre.

I also have another question about the attachTo command, after discovering it. Is it possible to attach humans into vehicles' cargo so they'd be able to shoot while traveling?
 
Quote Post
AndreAce
post Jun 5 2009, 21:52
Post #18


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 19-July 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 3,676



QUOTE(Rellikki @ Jun 5 2009, 20:16) *
Is it possible to attach humans into vehicles' cargo so they'd be able to shoot while traveling?

You're welcome biggrin.gif

I have not seen this by default nor in the missions.Maybe it is possible by scripting but I have to find out...but I do not think so.

But the BMP3 has multiple gunner seats,it is called "left gunner" & "right gunner" and you can use a stationary PK at an angle arround 30ー to 40ー


--------------------
 
Quote Post
D@V」
post Jun 7 2009, 14:35
Post #19


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Has anyone seen Chernorussian Bigfoot yet? ohnoo.gif

EDIT: Has anyone killed Chernorussian BigFoot yet!?!? ohnoo.gif ohnoo.gif

This post has been edited by D@V」: Jun 7 2009, 19:11


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I don稚 understand it, I知 afraid of it, and one day I値l accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Benoist
post Jun 9 2009, 13:18
Post #20


ArmA.info Sarcasm Society's Mr. Argentina 2012
Group Icon

Group: Newshound
Posts: 498
Joined: 20-October 07
From: Argentina
Member No.: 1,502



QUOTE(Rellikki @ Jun 5 2009, 15:16) *
I also have another question about the attachTo command, after discovering it. Is it possible to attach humans into vehicles' cargo so they'd be able to shoot while traveling?

Seems to be that way, in the front page there are some scripts made by Norrin where you can shot and reload. Shame that BIS didn't make the cargo positions as "attachTo" per se (get it? Attach to... the seat, the cargo seat rofl.gif ).

But this is not a complaing, because I have to know how does it works in MP, maybe is (and please, I never wanted to be so wrong) laggy as hell.
 
Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
6 User(s) are reading this topic (6 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th June 2019 - 01:58