IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules Forum Rules
27 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hardware/ Software/ Technical Questions Thread, All you ever wanted to know about your PC!
LooseKannon
post Nov 14 2006, 10:02
Post #41


KH Was Here 06
***

Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Gold Coast, Australia
Member No.: 40



Rager that. Well, lets see..

INTEL PENTIUM 4 Processor 541 LGA775 3.2Ghz 1MB L2-Cache 800FSB > $205AUD

Any good?

Cheers for the help. I'll bookmark that HDD


--------------------
Visit my Blog or my Facebook.

Ye olde member.
 
Quote Post
d@nte
post Nov 14 2006, 10:02
Post #42


head in the stars
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 549
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bittany
Member No.: 32



AMD Athlon 64 3500+
venice Socket 939
1024Mb RAM DDR
ATI x600 pro
hd: 250 go


--------------------

Un ali mat zo mat bepred Ha pa ve digant ur sot e ve

(Good advice is always good, even though it comes from an idiot).
 
Quote Post
Nuker
post Nov 14 2006, 11:03
Post #43


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Groningen, The Netherlands
Member No.: 95



AMD Athlon 64 3200+ socket 939
1024 Mb DDR RAM
GeForce 6600GT 256Mb
180 Gb HDisk
22" Widescreen TFT Monitor

I must say the 6600GT has a great price/quality ratio.


--------------------
 
Quote Post
King Homer
post Nov 14 2006, 16:08
Post #44


The King
***

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 169
Joined: 16-October 06
Member No.: 5



Today I decided to buy a new S-ATA. 250 GB should enough for me. Any advices for good HDD's? I either thought about a Seagate ST3250824AS Barracuda or a Samsung SP2504C SpinPoint P120. What do you think?


--------------------
Former "Uber"-Administrator.
 
Quote Post
NeMeSiS
post Nov 14 2006, 16:10
Post #45


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 16-October 06
From: Leiden, The Netherlands
Member No.: 7



QUOTE(LooseKannon @ Nov 14 2006, 10:02) *

Rager that. Well, lets see..

INTEL PENTIUM 4 Processor 541 LGA775 3.2Ghz 1MB L2-Cache 800FSB > $205AUD

Any good?

Cheers for the help. I'll bookmark that HDD


No, get a Core 2 Duo (an E6600 or something) like KH said, the whole P4 series is crap wink.gif


--------------------
Homo sapiens non urinat in ventum.
[img]http://www.impossible-quiz.com/images/badges/95-3.gif[img]
Impossible Quiz
 
Quote Post
d@nte
post Nov 14 2006, 16:50
Post #46


head in the stars
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 549
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bittany
Member No.: 32



QUOTE
Seagate ST3250824AS Barracuda
i have this one. and no problems


--------------------

Un ali mat zo mat bepred Ha pa ve digant ur sot e ve

(Good advice is always good, even though it comes from an idiot).
 
Quote Post
T_D
post Nov 14 2006, 16:53
Post #47


Troubleshooting Device
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 29
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 97



QUOTE(Nuker @ Nov 14 2006, 11:03) *

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ socket 939
1024 Mb DDR RAM
GeForce 6600GT 256Mb
180 Gb HDisk
22" Widescreen TFT Monitor

I must say the 6600GT has a great price/quality ratio.


Take the Samsung. I think it has the best price/quality rate. I have 2 of them and a 160GB Samsung.


--------------------

 
Quote Post
DaRat
post Nov 14 2006, 18:13
Post #48


~Established April, 2004~
*****

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 800
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Sussex, England
Member No.: 34



I think 160Gb will be enough for me. My friend has an 80Gb and he's never filled it over 3/4 of the way. I have no troubles with my 40Gb now, got plenty of shit on here too. If I find that I'm grossly mistaken, I'll get an external hd. Do they work just like normal HD's but on the outside? (can install shit straight onto them?) smile.gif
 
Quote Post
T_D
post Nov 14 2006, 18:22
Post #49


Troubleshooting Device
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 29
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 97



They nearly working the same but they are a lot slower because of the slow connection like USB. eSata solve this problem, because it is as fast as normal Sata HDDs just extern wink.gif


--------------------

 
Quote Post
DaRat
post Nov 14 2006, 18:29
Post #50


~Established April, 2004~
*****

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 800
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Sussex, England
Member No.: 34



So basically it's not a good idea to run programs off of it?
 
Quote Post
T_D
post Nov 14 2006, 19:18
Post #51


Troubleshooting Device
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 29
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 97



Small programs should be no problem, music is also ok but nothing like games or video editing stuff.


--------------------

 
Quote Post
JdB
post Nov 14 2006, 20:02
Post #52


Hipster addonmaker
*******

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 2,090
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Kingdom of the Netherlands
Member No.: 10



Basically it's meant for datastorage/back-up purposes.


--------------------
Creator of dodgy ArmA:CWA addons.

 
Quote Post
DaRat
post Nov 14 2006, 20:05
Post #53


~Established April, 2004~
*****

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 800
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Sussex, England
Member No.: 34



Ok, I kinda guessed that as soon as I heard the slow USB bit. Cheers for claring it up for me dudes laugh.gif
 
Quote Post
Deadeye
post Nov 14 2006, 20:06
Post #54


ArmA.info Sarcasm Society's Gentleman Usher of the Banstick
******

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 1,781
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Old-Europe
Member No.: 11



I won't buy a new HD for my new system I'll use an IDE Adapter smile.gif

Edit: Sry missed a few pages


--------------------
 
Quote Post
T_D
post Nov 14 2006, 21:11
Post #55


Troubleshooting Device
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 29
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 97



I won't upgrade my system until DirectX10 cards are standard, as well as DDR3 memory modules. I think these are the technologies I can wait for although I know that the moment I buy hardware it is outdated a few seconds later.


--------------------

 
Quote Post
Red Square Monkey
post Nov 14 2006, 21:14
Post #56


There will be cake.
****

Group: Members
Posts: 270
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 117



Intel Pentium 4 2.66GHz
ASUS P4P800-X Mobo
AGP 8x, 512 MB ATI Radeon X1600
1 GB DDR RAM, Frequency 200MHz
160 GB Samsung HD (ultra quiet)
80 GB Iomega External back-up drive

Also spended a lot on making my PC reaaally quiet.
 
Quote Post
Blackbuck
post Nov 14 2006, 21:40
Post #57


ArmA.info Sarcasm Society's Appointed Olivia Wilde Stalker
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,482
Joined: 12-November 06
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 113



well seeing as its related i guess, anyone use a slot style cpu?


--------------------

--------------------
Heed my words or risk being beaten with a stick then fed to my associate D@V£
The Rules - Most places have rules, these are ours Read them!
Moderation Feedback Thread - Let everyone know how much you don't like D@V£
--------------------
 
Quote Post
King Homer
post Nov 15 2006, 06:47
Post #58


The King
***

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 169
Joined: 16-October 06
Member No.: 5



Dudes, I have a problem, yesterday I bought my new S-ATA HDD and I wanted to install Windows on it but it didn't work.

I divided it in 4 partitions all the same size but Windows set up kept telling me some XP compatible files where missing on the drive. I don't know how to fix it, anyone has an idea? I don't want to use my slow IDE's anymore.


--------------------
Former "Uber"-Administrator.
 
Quote Post
Nuker
post Nov 15 2006, 09:04
Post #59


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Groningen, The Netherlands
Member No.: 95



QUOTE(T_D @ Nov 14 2006, 21:11) *

I won't upgrade my system until DirectX10 cards are standard, as well as DDR3 memory modules. I think these are the technologies I can wait for although I know that the moment I buy hardware it is outdated a few seconds later.


Ye, thats the problem with hardware. As soon as you buy it, it is outdated. It's such an expensive hobby to keep your PC up-to-date. dry.gif


--------------------
 
Quote Post
DaRat
post Nov 15 2006, 22:03
Post #60


~Established April, 2004~
*****

Group: Former .info Serviceman
Posts: 800
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Sussex, England
Member No.: 34



I'd still much prefer to be a PC Gamer than a console'er tongue.gif Got a Ps2, and all it's good for is some mindless fun laugh.gif I decided to start playing San Andreas on ps2 again, but euch... I hate gamepads tiredsmiley.gif That's why I'd rather spend money on an updated PC ^^
 
Quote Post

27 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th July 2018 - 02:17