IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules ArmedAssault.info Forum Rules
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New PC to run AA2, Looking for suggestions
Linker Split
post Oct 8 2010, 09:32
Post #1


literally the BIG BOSS of OFP
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,532
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bari (ITALY)
Member No.: 66



Hi guys,
seems that... well, I'm going to be back... lol... in some months.. boppin2.gif

I'm building my new PC with some new stuff like Motherboard, GPU...
Since I would like to start again editing for these games, I'm looking for the best-at-good-price computer blues.gif

I already have:

QUOTE
Motherboard AsRock 4CoreDual-SATA2
CPU Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz
Cores pr CPU 4
Measured speed 2394.9 GHZ
Multiplier 9.0X
Bus Speed 264Mhz
Front Side Bus speed 1055Mhz
L1 Instruction cache 4x32 MB
L1 data cache 4x32 MB
L2 cache size 2x4 MB

RAM 2048MB


Ok so.....
I'm about to upgrade this.
I would like to buy a new GPU and I'm a bit confused between some Nvidia GPUs and some ATI ones.
Models are:

QUOTE
Nvidia GTX 460 1GB GDDR5

CUDA Cores 336
Graphics Clock (MHz) 675 MHz
Processor Clock (MHz) 1350 MHz
Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 37.8
Memory Clock (MHz) 1800
Standard Memory Config 1GB GDDR5
Memory Interface Width 256-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 115.2

PRIZE: 210€


QUOTE
Nvidia GTS 450 1GB GDDR5
Processor Cores 192
Graphics Clock (MHz) 783 (MHz)
Processor Clock (MHz) 1566 (MHz)
Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 25.1
Memory Clock (MHz) 1804
Standard Memory Config 1GB GDDR5
Memory Interface Width 128-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 57.7

PRIZE: 170€


QUOTE
Ati Radeon HD5770 1GB DDR5
# Engine clock speed: 850 MHz
# Processing power (single precision): 1.36 TeraFLOPS
# Polygon throughput: 850M polygons/sec
# Data fetch rate (32-bit): 136 billion fetches/sec
# Texel fill rate (bilinear filtered): 34 Gigatexels/sec
# Pixel fill rate: 13.6 Gigapixels/sec
# Anti-aliased pixel fill rate: 54.4 Gigasamples/sec
# Memory clock speed: 1.2 GHz
# Memory data rate: 4.8 Gbps
# Memory bandwidth: 76.8 GB/sec
# Maximum board power: 108 Watts

PRIZE: 180€


QUOTE
Ati Radeon HD5750 1GB DDR5
# Engine clock speed: 700 MHz
# Processing power (single precision): 1.008 TeraFLOPS
# Polygon throughput: 700M polygons/sec
# Data fetch rate (32-bit): 100.8 billion fetches/sec
# Texel fill rate (bilinear filtered): 25.2 Gigatexels/sec
# Pixel fill rate: 11.2 Gigapixels/sec
# Anti-aliased pixel fill rate: 44.8 Gigasamples/sec
# Memory clock speed: 1.15 GHz
# Memory data rate: 4.6 Gbps
# Memory bandwidth: 73.6 GB/sec
# Maximum board power: 86 Watts

PRIZE: 160€


Also I would like to upgrade my Windows XP and buy Windows 7 64-bit.

So guys, what y'a think? yammer.gif

Tell me everything you know

This post has been edited by Linker Split: Oct 8 2010, 16:52


--------------------
Visit my blog about Poker at Blogspot.com


-->TUTORIAL ON HOW TO MAKE NORMAL MAPPING IN ARMA!<--
-->MATERIAL EDITOR TUTORIAL!<--
-->DOWNLOAD MY HDT ISLAND!<--
judgement = hypocritical and slightly deluded
 
Quote Post
D@V
post Oct 8 2010, 11:16
Post #2


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



Unless you seriously need the newer software that won't work on XP, I'd say skip Vista. Once you sort out the bullshit, it's pretty much just the same thing.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I dont understand it, Im afraid of it, and one day Ill accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Linker Split
post Oct 8 2010, 16:52
Post #3


literally the BIG BOSS of OFP
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,532
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bari (ITALY)
Member No.: 66



QUOTE(D@V @ Oct 8 2010, 12:16) *
Unless you seriously need the newer software that won't work on XP, I'd say skip Vista. Once you sort out the bullsh*t, it's pretty much just the same thing.


D@v, I corrected myself boppin2.gif
I meant Windows 7 biggrin.gif


--------------------
Visit my blog about Poker at Blogspot.com


-->TUTORIAL ON HOW TO MAKE NORMAL MAPPING IN ARMA!<--
-->MATERIAL EDITOR TUTORIAL!<--
-->DOWNLOAD MY HDT ISLAND!<--
judgement = hypocritical and slightly deluded
 
Quote Post
D@V
post Oct 8 2010, 18:40
Post #4


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



QUOTE(Linker Split @ Oct 8 2010, 16:52) *
D@v, I corrected myself boppin2.gif
I meant Windows 7 biggrin.gif


Unless you seriously need the newer software that won't work on XP, I'd say skip Vista Seven. Once you sort out the bullshit, it's pretty much just the same thing.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I dont understand it, Im afraid of it, and one day Ill accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Linker Split
post Oct 8 2010, 21:17
Post #5


literally the BIG BOSS of OFP
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,532
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bari (ITALY)
Member No.: 66



well I don't think it's the same cause I know that XP doesn't use all the cores of a quad core, while Windows 7 does...
is it correct?


--------------------
Visit my blog about Poker at Blogspot.com


-->TUTORIAL ON HOW TO MAKE NORMAL MAPPING IN ARMA!<--
-->MATERIAL EDITOR TUTORIAL!<--
-->DOWNLOAD MY HDT ISLAND!<--
judgement = hypocritical and slightly deluded
 
Quote Post
D@V
post Oct 9 2010, 01:20
Post #6


Gee, I wish we had one of them doomsday machines.
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,037
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Wales
Member No.: 155



QUOTE(Linker Split @ Oct 8 2010, 21:17) *
well I don't think it's the same cause I know that XP doesn't use all the cores of a quad core, while Windows 7 does...
is it correct?


Ah. Yes. I forgot about that. I know it does support more RAM, though I think the numbers are 3gb for XP, 4gb for Vista and Seven. Not too sure about processors though. Bear in mind though, if you do get Vista or Seven, you're effectively only getting the same performance as if you have 1gb of RAM, due to increased demands of the OS.


--------------------
The Rules - Nothing too complicated, follow these and we'll have no problems.
Moderation Feedback Thread - Tell everyone how much you hate me love me secretly fear that Mark is watching you while you sleep. secretly wish that Mark is watching you while you sleep.
Site Issues Thread - Complain about site issues here. We might even fix them!
Community Chatter Thread - Furthest Mud-sling gets a free subscription to "JdB Monthly".

QUOTE(Major Mike Shearer)
We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area.
QUOTE(Brace Belden)
A machine gun is like a woman, I dont understand it, Im afraid of it, and one day Ill accidentally be killed by one.
 
Quote Post
Linker Split
post Oct 9 2010, 11:40
Post #7


literally the BIG BOSS of OFP
Group Icon

Group: Addon Maker
Posts: 1,532
Joined: 12-November 06
From: Bari (ITALY)
Member No.: 66



thank you d@v.
But what about GPU's?
I think I'm more inclined to buy a GTX 460


--------------------
Visit my blog about Poker at Blogspot.com


-->TUTORIAL ON HOW TO MAKE NORMAL MAPPING IN ARMA!<--
-->MATERIAL EDITOR TUTORIAL!<--
-->DOWNLOAD MY HDT ISLAND!<--
judgement = hypocritical and slightly deluded
 
Quote Post
AZCoder
post Oct 14 2010, 06:36
Post #8


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 23-May 10
From: phoenix
Member No.: 7,654



QUOTE(Linker Split @ Oct 9 2010, 03:40) *
thank you d@v.
But what about GPU's?
I think I'm more inclined to buy a GTX 460

If it helps any, XP limits: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888732
Although it says XP is limited to 2 processors, my work laptop is running XP with a quad core, and it does see all the cores. I can't say that it performs very well. It is surprisingly sluggish, partly due to all the junk they load on there.

I do agree with d@v, Windows 7 is pretty much the same as XP. It looks different, they made it harder to find what you need, and then when you do find it, you have the same exact windows pop up as XP. At any rate, I run A2/OA on Win7 64 bit, and it runs well.

I have a friend that got a GTX 460, and it died about 4 weeks later. Warranty replacement of course. Probably a fluke, I've used Nvidia for many years, never had one die without a good reason biggrin.gif His 460 seemed to run real smoothly. I have a 285, it's done pretty well for the most part.
 
Quote Post
Emma5Russell
post Jan 4 2011, 12:15
Post #9


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 4-January 11
From: 5651 Frist Blvd, Hermitage, TN 37074
Member No.: 8,667



In AA2 is demanding on both CPU and GPU...


--------------------
Signature Removed - Moderation
 
Quote Post
Flatterman
post Jan 4 2011, 17:57
Post #10


Junior Member
Group Icon

Group: Site Team
Posts: 11
Joined: 11-December 10
From: Grlitz, Germany
Member No.: 8,596



The GTX 460 is okay, not top shelf though. I would invest in a better CPU too. There is a now Intel architecture (Sandy Bridge) coming out this month, so the prices for the old i7s and i5s might drop a lot as well as the mainboards.

here's a brand new cpu benchmark of ArmA2:OA including the new sandy bridge Intels:

http://www.computerbase.de/artikel/prozess...ation_arrowhead

I'm also getting a new rig together and i'm going for a Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @3.4 GHz
 
Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th July 2018 - 15:47