IPB


Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules ArmedAssault.info Forum Rules
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vf-1S return
Ghost.
post Mar 9 2011, 21:57
Post #1


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 2,889



Hello,

Some times ago, I created a Macross / Robotech addon (Wrongly named "Robotech Vf-1S", I know, I know smile.gif) on ArmA.
I had lots of demands of fans to port this mod on ArmA2... but less time to do that... until now (clic on the picture to see it in high resolution).



On top, is the original one made for ArmA
On the bottom, is the new one smile.gif

As you can see, I've made some new textures. But that is not enough...
I'm working on improving the sounds and fixing some bugs (like the shadows that do not cast on the body),... lot of work to do.

More informations soon...

Ghost.

This post has been edited by Ghost.: Mar 9 2011, 22:07
 
Quote Post
crazyrobban
post Mar 10 2011, 08:31
Post #2


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-March 11
Member No.: 8,841



QUOTE(Ghost. @ Mar 9 2011, 21:57) *
Hello,

Some times ago, I created a Macross / Robotech addon (Wrongly named "Robotech Vf-1S", I know, I know smile.gif) on ArmA.
I had lots of demands of fans to port this mod on ArmA2... but less time to do that... until now (clic on the picture to see it in high resolution).


On top, is the original one made for ArmA
On the bottom, is the new one smile.gif

As you can see, I've made some new textures. But that is not enough...
I'm working on improving the sounds and fixing some bugs (like the shadows that do not cast on the body),... lot of work to do.

More informations soon...

Ghost.


Sweet! Great news! worship.gif
Would it be easy to include a model without the booster on the veritech?

Crazy
 
Quote Post
vermanshane
post Mar 13 2011, 05:12
Post #3


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 8,850



I have really been hoping for this too, can't wait for it to come out. And yeah if you could include one without a booster that would be awesome. But I guess that depends on how you modeled it, either way looking forward to release!
 
Quote Post
Ghost.
post Mar 13 2011, 19:27
Post #4


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 2,889



Hello,

To answer your question, the model has been modeled with the boosters (to have the boost mode and an ultimate weapon... and because I love this model in this version biggrin.gif). Removing them includes lot of 3D modifications, new textures, new animations, new scripts...
So I've chosen to not modify the 3d model and keep in mind that it is a "simple" port, with enhancements.

But currently I've 2 problems. Since my 1st post, I've try to find a solution on different forums, without success. I hope that I will find some help here.

1 - The shadows that do not cast on the body.
I've found that it is because of a too large texture size (2048x2048). The quick solution is to reduce them and loose the current quality. If ArmAII does not support this size of texture, I should make a choice between Shadows and quality...
2 - "rpm" value that do not work with the animations.
The only information I have, is that it can be fixed only by a patch from BIS. So, I try to find another alternative. The new "class sounds" configuration uses "thrust factor" and "rpm factor". Maybe that they can be adapted in a script, but I dont' not how to.

If someone can help me, he is welcome smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ghost.: Mar 13 2011, 19:29
 
Quote Post
crazyrobban
post Mar 18 2011, 12:04
Post #5


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-March 11
Member No.: 8,841



QUOTE(Ghost. @ Mar 13 2011, 19:27) *
Hello,

To answer your question, the model has been modeled with the boosters (to have the boost mode and an ultimate weapon... and because I love this model in this version biggrin.gif). Removing them includes lot of 3D modifications, new textures, new animations, new scripts...
So I've chosen to not modify the 3d model and keep in mind that it is a "simple" port, with enhancements.

But currently I've 2 problems. Since my 1st post, I've try to find a solution on different forums, without success. I hope that I will find some help here.

1 - The shadows that do not cast on the body.
I've found that it is because of a too large texture size (2048x2048). The quick solution is to reduce them and loose the current quality. If ArmAII does not support this size of texture, I should make a choice between Shadows and quality...
2 - "rpm" value that do not work with the animations.
The only information I have, is that it can be fixed only by a patch from BIS. So, I try to find another alternative. The new "class sounds" configuration uses "thrust factor" and "rpm factor". Maybe that they can be adapted in a script, but I dont' not how to.

If someone can help me, he is welcome smile.gif


Can't help you :-/
Though I can give you my input, and I believe the realistic feeling you get when having proper shadows, should outweigh the quality gain by the big texture. So I say, rather less detailed textures and proper shadows. :-)

You are doing some amazing work ghost!
 
Quote Post
dcal
post Mar 18 2011, 23:22
Post #6


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-April 10
Member No.: 7,472



QUOTE(crazyrobban @ Mar 18 2011, 12:04) *
Can't help you :-/
Though I can give you my input, and I believe the realistic feeling you get when having proper shadows, should outweigh the quality gain by the big texture. So I say, rather less detailed textures and proper shadows. :-)

You are doing some amazing work ghost!


I agree, go for the shadows. I think alot of folks will be happy that this is being updated and released and won't nit pick too much. It does not have to be perfect. Thanks again for all your hard work Ghost.. Really looking forward to this and have about 45% of my new video together that the VF-1 will make a big splash in toward the end.
 
Quote Post
Ghost.
post Mar 19 2011, 21:16
Post #7


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 2,889



Understood...

But if I can have HD textures and shadows, it could be better, no ?
I hope yes... because I've fixed the problem smile.gif

For anyone who have the same problem, here is the solution : Use TextView2 !
(I have used the paa plug, with default parameters. Size of the textures was strangely large)

And now, you can see how it looks like ingame smile.gif
VF-1S for ArmA II (Test WIP)
 
Quote Post
dcal
post Mar 26 2011, 12:12
Post #8


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-April 10
Member No.: 7,472



QUOTE(Ghost. @ Mar 19 2011, 21:16) *
Understood...

But if I can have HD textures and shadows, it could be better, no ?
I hope yes... because I've fixed the problem smile.gif

For anyone who have the same problem, here is the solution : Use TextView2 !
(I have used the paa plug, with default parameters. Size of the textures was strangely large)

And now, you can see how it looks like ingame smile.gif
VF-1S for ArmA II (Test WIP)


Great work. The new sounds are much better as are the textures. It looks as though it is getting close to completion. I know I have already said this but it is worth repeating, thanks for taking up the project again.
 
Quote Post
Ghost.
post May 28 2011, 21:41
Post #9


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-April 08
Member No.: 2,889



Hello,

Here is the last news about my addon.

- A video (for those who have not already seen it) :
Here !

- A picture :

Differences may be not noticable, because the main work is not visual smile.gif

The good news, is that this mod is close to the release and might be compatible with all version of ArmA (Has been tested on ArmA CO and ArmA OA).
 
Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (3 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th January 2018 - 13:08